

# Draft Virtual Annual General Meeting Minutes Zoom Webinar June 23, 2022

#### **Voting Attendees**

Arlene Allen-McCarthy Kailee Garfield Natalie O'Mara **Holly Barss** Amanda Goddard Cynthia Osborne Sherri Bezanson Jonathan Harris Kathryn Parsons Stephanie Bizzeth Morgan Hawkes Tara Pride Nicole Boudreau Rochelle Heighton Lynn Renton **Christine Bray Kelsey Hunter** Leticia Richer Victoria Jessome Lisa Saunders-Green Jocelyn Brown Krista Buchanan Sarah Keefe **Angie Selig** Nicole Butler Cheryl Lake Bevan Sequeira Chantelle Capone Karen Landry Crystal Skinner Laura Caron Cynthia Stilwell Heidi Lauckner Victoria Cernjak Brittany Lee Sue Street Cherie Lewis Lisa Chisholm Sarah Teklet Joanne Comeau Diane MacKenzie Scott Thieu Lacey Cox Jaclyn MacLeod Joanne Thorne Jen Davis Meghan MacLeod Dara Tugwell Lyndsay Duffin Christine Marchessault **Emily Webber** Ruth Duggan **Heather White** Maggie McCann **Dorothy Edem** Jillian Mercer Andrew Wilson Marybeth Fleming Saholy Mevamanana Kevin Wong Lindsay Fisher Millard Randi Monroe Lindsay Yaffe Annette Fraser Sean Murphy

### **Non-Voting Attendees**

Sheila Fricker

Maria Lasheras Tonia O'Rielly Phil Veinotte
Jenn MacKay-Myra Carrie Rice Emma Young

Catherine-Anne Murray

#### 1. Call to Order

The AGM was called to order at 12:38pm by Marybeth Fleming, Chair of the COTNS Board. Marybeth read the following acknowledgment:

The College of Occupational Therapists of Nova Scotia would like to acknowledge that we are on the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq people. We are all treaty people.

The College of Occupational Therapists of Nova Scotia (College) Board and staff introduced themselves.

# 2. Approval of Agenda

**Motion**: It was moved by Scott Thieu and seconded by Karen Landry that the Agenda be approved as circulated. Motion carried.

#### 3. Approval of the 2021 AGM Minutes

**Motion**: It was moved by Nicole Butler and seconded by Lynn Renton that the June 24, 2021, Minutes be approved as circulated. Motion carried.

#### 4. Auditor's Report

Baker Tilly NS was represented by Tonia O'Rielly, CPA, CA and Emma Young, CPA, CA. Emma Young presented the audited financials.

**Motion**: It was moved by Cherie Lewis and seconded by Lynn Renton that the Auditor's report was received. Motion Carried.

**Motion**: It was moved by Victoria Cernjak and seconded by Christine Marchessault that COTNS reappoint BakerTilly NS as the 2022-2023 Auditors. Motion carried.

#### 5. Annual Report

Kevin Wong, Registrar of COTNS, reviewed highlights of the annual report including the registrations over the past year by the Credentials Committee, the learning modules completed by the Continuing Competence Committee, the practice questions and guidelines by the Professional Practice Committee, and the complaints received this past year navigated by the Professional Conduct Committee. Kevin thanked each committee in turn for their hard work in the past year.

**Motion:** It was moved by Kathryn Parsons and seconded by Jen Davis that the 2021/2022 Annual Report was received. Motion carried.

# 6. Call for Nominations for the College Board of Directors

Marybeth Fleming spoke to the nominations process for the College Board of Directors. The nominations deadline was the following day, June 24, 2022, and Marybeth encouraged the registrants to complete an application package.

# 7. Registrants' Forum

Question posed by registrant:

Q. A registrant voiced a concern regarding the requirement of the Vulnerable Sector Check.

A. The Vulnerable Sector Check is an important tool that the College uses to fulfill its mandate of public protection. The College takes the position that this is a license requirement for all OTs. Any registrant with a concern about the Vulnerable Sector Check requirement, or any licensing requirement, can contact the College at any time to discuss their concerns.

#### 8. Tentative date for the 2022 Annual General Meeting

The tentative date for the next AGM is June 22, 2023.

## 9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00pm by Marybeth Fleming.

These Minutes were approved at the 2023 Annual General Meeting, June 22, 2023.